Sometimes It Rains.

It rains a lot in Cardiff in the winter, which sucks when your landlord refuses to come and fix the leak in your roof. Sitting in my bed listening to the rain poor down the gutter by my front door, all I can hear is the slow sludge and bubble of dead leaves and old Miss Millie’s chip packets being washed away down the street. I’m watching people pull their coats tighter and grasp their umbrellas like weapons in the wind, and they’re all passing my window, wishing they were inside with an electric blanket on and a whole bunch of candles like I am. Poor suckers, it looks disgusting out there. I’d know, I just got in from it about a half hour ago. Despite my heavy coat  I was soaked through to the bone.

I seem to be soaked to the bone a lot recently. I just feel constantly bogged down by the rain that keeps falling down around me. And there’s an awful lot of rainfall hitting my area – my socks are constantly wet. It’s annoying because life just isn’t like the Disney fairytales we’re exposed to as children. No prince will come on his steed to kiss us out of our curse-imposed slumber, no gathering of mice will sing along and help us with the ever-growing amount of chores, and you can bet your ass that there are no magic genies in at least a 2,000 mile radius from my house. So what’s a girl to do when life hits you like a hurricane on a mission?

Pull on your wellies, grab an arm, and just keep walking; because you can’t stop the rain but you can damn well kick up some puddles whilst it pours.

There just doesn’t seem much point in wallowing anymore. So it’s raining, so we’re all wet, so our clothes are taking too long to dry and we forgot to buy milk – there’s nothing much else to do but just get on with it. I was staring at the ceiling in bed, overwhelmed by a the heaviness of life, when Mr.JMT turned to me and said: ‘It’s all just a bit weird at the moment isn’t it?’ At that moment I just lay there and started to giggle. I giggled, I laughed, was hysterical until I cried and just stayed there revelling in the company of somebody that was as powerless as me to stop the rain.

It was at that point that I realised the utter futility of shaking my fists at the clouds and demanding to know who it was in charge of the rain. Blaming the weather man, blaming the clouds, blaming the sea that they’d evaporated and formed from – it’s all just a bit silly. Because sometimes it just rains. Sometimes life just sucks. That’s it, then end, done. And all I can do is cuddle up to those I love, try to get through it, and hope that I learn to dance in the rain.

Although – I don’t advise you actually go out and dance in the rain. I’m being metaphorical here. That’s how you catch pneumonia, don’t you know.

Love CharisAmy x